Plan B with his three Ivor Novello Awards

Merok Records rapper Plan B was the big winner at this year’s Ivor Novello music awards in London, carrying off three prizes tonight st a star-studded evening in the capital. Now as all the acts are set to party away into the night, most heading to Mairead Nash’s LUV LUV LUV Records party at W Hotel, some of us are stuck in a bar with a pint writing up the results for some worthless blog… any guesses?

The 27-year-old from London — whose real name is Benjamin Drew — won Songwriter of the Year as well as the Album Award for “The Defamation of Strickland Banks” while his single “She Said” scooped the Music Most Performed Work prize.

Culture and Life favourite Conor O'Brien aka Villagers bags the biggie

Rapper Tinie Tempah won Best Contemporary Song for “Pass Out” and big congratulations must go to Conor O’Brien for Best Song Musically and Lyrically under his moniker of Villagers for “Becoming a Jackal.”

Tinie Tempah winner of Best Contemporary Song

Dizzee Rascal won the Ivors Inspiration Award while former Free and Bad Company vocalist Paul Rodgers won the award for Outstanding Contribution to British Music.

The annual Ivor Novello Awards celebrate excellence in British and Irish songwriting and have been judged and presented by the songwriting and composing community for more than 55 years.

The award ceremony was held at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel by the British Academy of Songwriters, Composers and Authors (BASCA) in association with the performing right society, PRS for Music.

Plan B walks off with three prestigious Ivor Novello Awards tonight

Full List Of The Winners:

Music Most Performed Work:

Song: She Said

Written by: Eric Appapoulay / Richard Cassell / Benjamin Drew/ Tom Wright-Goss

Performed by: Plan B

Published in the UK by: Sony/ATV Music Publishing / Universal Music Publishing

Best Original Video Game Score:

Game: Napoleon: Total War

Composed by: Richard Beddow / Richard Birdsall / Ian Livingstone

Developer: The Creative Assembly

Published in the UK by: SEGA

Best Contemporary Song:

Song: Pass Out

Written by: Timothy McKenzie / Patrick Okogwu / Marc Williams

Performed by: Tinie Tempah

Published in the UK by: EMI Music Publishing / Stellar Songs Ltd

The Ivors Inspiration Award:

Dizzee Rascal

The Ivors Classical Music Award:

Michael Nyman

Album Award:

Album: The Defamation of Strickland Banks

Written by: Benjamin Drew

Performed by: Plan B

Published in the UK by: Universal Music Publishing

Best Original Film Score:

Film: How To Train Your Dragon

Composed by: John Powell

Published in the UK by: BMG Chrysalis

Music Outstanding Contribution to British Music:

Paul Rodgers

Best Song Musically & Lyrically:

Song: Becoming a Jackal

Written by: Conor O’Brien

Performed by: Villagers

Published in the UK by: Domino Publishing Company

International Achievement:

Matthew Bellamy, Dominic Howard & Christopher Wolstenholme (Muse)

Outstanding Song Collection:

Steve Winwood

Songwriter of the Year:

Benjamin Drew (Plan B)

Music Special International Award:

Stephen Sondheim

Best Television Soundtrack:

Broadcast: Any Human Heart

Composed by: Dan Jones

Published in the UK by: Faber Music Ltd / Universal Music Publishing